EmBe announces Tribute to Women nominees

March 13, 2018

Fifty-two people and businesses have been nominated for EmBe’s 45th Tribute to Women awards.

The event is a fundraiser supporting several EmBe programs.

Nominees will be honored and winners announced at the event April 19, beginning at 5:30 p.m. at the Washington Pavilion.

Early bird tickets are available now through March 30 for $65. After March 30, tickets are $75. Tickets are available at embe.org/tribute.

The nominees are:

Banking & Finance

  • Jeanni Stahl, MetaBank.
  • Katie Johnson, Great Western Bank.
  • Marie Fredrickson, U.S. Bank.
  • Marcy Crawford, Citi.

Business Achievement

  • Courtney Jacobson, Sammons Financial Group.
  • Shelly Johnson, Lawrence & Schiller.
  • Becka Burger, HenkinSchultz.
  • Carrie Biondi, Lawrence & Schiller.
  • Cindy Elifrits Peterson, Maximizing Excellence LLC.
  • Amy Rollinger, Throne Publishing Group.
  • Colette Manning, Sanford Health.

Community Service

  • Stephanie Bengford, U.S. Attorney’s Office.
  • Kathy Rutten, South Dakota Network Against Family Violence and Sexual Assault.
  • Jan Norwine, Meta Payment Systems
  • Priscilla Jorve, retired.
  • Diane Bauch, The First National Bank in Sioux Falls.
  • Mary Ihli, retired.
  • Penny Porter, retired.
  • Lori Murray, Avera McKennan Hospital & University Health Center.
  • Lori Hanson, Sanford Health.
  • Geraldine Pedersen, Jasper Historical Society.


  • Center for Family Medicine.
  • Dan Kuik, Sanford Health Hospice.
  • Joy Johnson, Girl Scouts-Dakota Horizons.
  • Bob Sutton, Avera Health.
  • Pat McAdaragh, Midco.
  • Trent Sorbe, Central Payments.

Government & Law

  • Barbara Wetrosky, South Dakota Department of Human Services.
  • Sandy Frentz, Sioux Falls Health Department.
  • Kristina Schaefer, First Bank & Trust.
  • Jennifer Petersen, ACLU of South Dakota.
  • Sharla Svennes, Myers Billion.

Health Care & STEM

  • Michelle Booze, Sanford Health.
  • Dr. Kelly Rhone, Avera eCare.
  •  Dr. Allison Suttle, Sanford Health.

Humanities & Education

  • Lynell Weeg, HenkinSchultz.
  • Tina Lenz, Sioux Falls Lutheran School.
  • Laura Chandler, South Dakota State University.

Sylvia Henkin Mentoring Award

  • Jan Haugen-Rogers, Sanford Health.
  • Lori Popkes, Avera McKennan Hospital.

Young Woman of Achievement

  • Ashley Ballou-Bonnema, Breathe Bravely.
  • Sarah McGuire, American Bank & Trust.
  • Rebecca Donaldson, LSS/Family Connections/Safehome/Huntingtons.
  • Megan Jaquet, CTE: Sioux Falls School District.
  • Betsy Doyle, Minnehaha County public defender.
  • Marlee Hayes, Marlee Hayes Art.
  • Katie Iverson, Glamour Defined.
  • Lucy Albers, SMG.
  • Michaela Seiber, Sanford Research.
  • Teri Bergeleen, Avera Health.
  • Ashton Dockendorf, Lemonly.
  • Berit Foss, University of South Dakota.

EmBe announces Tribute to Women nominees

Meet the 52 people and businesses nominated for the EmBe Tribute to Women awards.

News Tip

Have a business news item to share with us?

Scroll to top